Language:

Published data is free for private use, commercial use is prohibited.

Contact

Pistol Makarov 9 mm - History

The Weapon

Briefly after world war II, the Soviet Ministry of Defense ordered to develop a pistol which "uses the best elements of handling and construction of all in wars used pistols all over the world". Furthermore they desired to favor the calibers 7.65 mm or 9 mm. The gun should be used by officers of Soviet Forces and police officers for self defense and should replace the 1933 established pistol Tula Tokarev TT-33 7.62x25 mm.

Different designers took care of this task: Tokarev, Simonov, Korovin, Vojevodin, Rakov and Makarov. Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov built his model similar to the Walther PP in two calibers: 7.65 mm Browning and 9 mm. His solution had advantages over those of the competitors. The pistol was compact (made up of approximately 30 peaces), manageable and with a good accuracy. Both versions had acceptable results. The army preferred the 9 mm-one due to the higher power in the target, a crucial factor in a combat situation. 1951 the army and the police forces accepted the pistol Makarov PM 9 mm.

1951 the production started in Russia. The German Democratic Republic GDR (1958) and China (1959) followed up in the late fifties. 1960 Bulgaria started the production. All weapons were substantially equal except their marks.

The pistol Makarov was used from the forces of the Warsaw Pact as well as from the agents of the Komitet Gossudarstwennoi Besopasnosti (committee for the safety of the state services) KGB. A lot of police corps grabbed the pistol in their arsenals. These weapons were used in many wars, for example in Vietnam and in Afghanistan. Until today the gun is used in Ethiopia, Bulgaria, Cuba, Laos, Libya, Malta, Mozambique, Nicaragua, Poland, Romania, Russia, Somalia and Syria.

On October 23rd 2002, a disreputable, worldwide attention occurred when hostage-taker attacked the Moscow Dubrowka theater. These terrorists were armed with Makarovs amongst others.

The Inventor

Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov (undated, based on the medals, picture was taken between 1966 and 1974)
Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov (undated, based on the medals, picture was taken between 1966 and 1974)

Short curiculum vitae:

1914Birth Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov at Sasovo
1929-1931Apprenticeship as locksmith at the vocational school Ryazan'
1931-1935Railway engines depot Sasovo, maintenance and repair of steam engines
1936-1944Study in mechanical engineering at the university of applied science Tula
1941-1945Work as foreman in an armament factory, Zagorsk and Vyatskie Polyany
1945 Promotion to chief design engineer at Tula's KBP Instrument Design Bureau
1946-1951Development of the pistol Makarov PM 7.65 mm and 9 mm
1952Distinction with USSR State Prize
ab 1952Development of the aircraft cannon AM-23
ab 1962Development of the antitank missile Fagot (AT-4 Spigot)
1966Distinction with the Order of the Red Banner of Labor
1967Second distinction with USSR State Prize
1971Distinction with the Order of Lenin
1974Distinction as Hero of Socialist Labor (together with the second Order of Lenin)
1974Retirement
1988Death in the age of 74 years at Tula

Map Russia
Map Russia

On May 9th 1914, Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov was born at Sasovo im czaristic Russia as son of Pelagia and the locomotive driver Fedor Makarov. He and his five brothers and sisters grew up in poor circumstances, mainly during and after the Russian Civil War 1918-1920 the family had problems to pull through.

In elementary school Nikolai was especially talented in mathematics. After finishing this, he enlisted in the vocational school at Ryazan’ on 1929 and completed his education as locksmith. From 1931 until 1935 he maintained and repaired steam engines at the locomotive repair shop in the Sasovo's depot. 1936 Nikolai Makarov commenced his engineering (mechanic) study in the university of applied science at Tula. At the beginning of the World War II he was ordered to Zagorsk near Moscow to a company which produced the submachine gun Shpagin PPSch for an externship as engineer. After short time the production site was dislocated to Vyatskie Polyany due to the approaching German Armed Forces. He worked one's way up from foreman to designer. In these functions he learned about the production of automatic weapons and worked as designer under Georgi Semjonowitsch Schpagin. At a later date Makarov described Schpagin as a great source of inspiration. 1944 (dependent on the source 1943) Makarov completed his study, he passed with distinction.

Following he worked on the design of a new generation of the submachine gun Shpagin PPSh. This project was canceled by end of Word War II, the weapon was never produced.

Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov with his wife Nadeschda (née Mandelstam; undated picture)
Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov with his wife Nadeschda (née Mandelstam; undated picture)

During the post war years, Makarov developed a pistol with caliber 7.65 mm and 9 mm. The soviet armed forces adopted the 9 mm version, wherefore Makarov was honored with USSR State Prize.

Thereinafter Nikolai Makarov and Nikolay Afanasyev developed the aircraft cannon AM-23, which was in service between 1953 and 1972. As an example the cannon was installed in Iljuschin Il-40 aircrafts to defend the retral half sphere. Furthermore, Makarov was involved in the development of the antitank missile Fagot (AT-4 Spigot) from 1962. Therefore, he was honored with USSR State Prize the second time.

Almost 30 years, from 1945 until his retirement caused by illness by 1974, Makarov worked for Tula's KBP Instrument Design Bureau. 36 inventions were accredited to him. He received the USSR State Prize twice, the Order of the Red Banner of Labor, the Order of Lenin twice and was distinction as Hero of Socialist Labor by 1974 .

Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov (undated, according to the medals the picture was taken after 1974)
Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov (undated, according to the medals the picture was taken after 1974)

During his retirement, he was twice elected member of the Oblast Tula's Council of the People's Deputies and was member of the regional council. During his leisure time, he loved to fish and to paint.

Makarov was described as a modest man. His famousness would assure him a special position in the socialistic Russia, however he did not pray for preferential treatment. According to his wife Nadeschda (née Mandelstam), he lived with her for 44 years, he did not spoke about his inventions at home and he did never show her his famous pistol.

Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov died after his seventh apoplectic stroke by May 13th 1988 in the age of 74 years at Tula.

Sprache:

Die Daten sind frei zum privaten Gebrauch. Jede kommerzielle Nutzung ist untersagt.

Kontakt

Pistole Makarov 9 mm - Geschichte

Die Waffe

Kurz nach dem Zweiten Weltkrieg gab das sowjetische Verteidigungsministerium den Auftrag, eine Faustfeuerwaffe zu entwickeln die "die besten Elemente der Bedienung und Konstruktion aller in Kriegen benutzten Faustfeuerwaffen der Welt" nutzte. Ausserdem wurde gewünscht, dass die Kaliber 7.65 mm oder 9 mm vorzuziehen seien. Die Pistole sollte als Waffe zur Selbstverteidigung für die Offiziere der Sovjetischen Armee und für die Polizei ausgelegt werden und die 1933 eingeführte Pistole Tula Tokarev TT-33 7.62x25 mm ersetzen.

Verschiedene Designer nahmen sich der Aufgabe an: Tokarev, Simonov, Korovin, Vojevodin, Rakov und Makarov. Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov baute sein der Walther PP ähnliches Model in zwei Kaliber: 7.65 mm Browning und 9 mm. Seine Lösung hatte einleuchtende Vorteile gegenüber deren der Konkurrenten: Sie war kompakt (mit nur ca. 30 Teilen zusammengesetzt), handlich, leicht zu bedienen und von guter Treffsicherheit. Beide Versionen brachten akzeptable Resultate. Die Armee favorisierte die 9 mm-Pistole wegen ihrer besseren Mannstop-Wirkung, ein entscheidender Faktor im Nahkampf. 1951 wurde die Pistole Makarov PM von der Armee und der Polizei akzeptiert.

Die Produktion der Pistole startete 1951 in Russland. Ostdeutschland (1958) und China (1959) folgten in den späten fünfziger Jahren. 1960 nahm Bulgarien die Herstellung auf. Die Waffen waren ausgenommen der Markierungen im Wesentlichen alle identisch.

Die Makarov 9 mm wurde sowohl von den Truppen des Warschauer Pakts als auch von den Agenten des Komitet Gossudarstwennoi Besopasnosti (Komitee für Staatssicherheitsdienst) KGB benutzt. Viele Polizeikorps von Oststaaten nahmen die Waffe in ihre Arsenale auf. Sie spielte in verschiedenen Kriegen in der Welt, zum Beispiel in Vietnam und in Afghanistan, eine Rolle. Die Pistole wird oder wurde in Äthiopien, Bulgarien, Kuba, Laos, Libyen, Malta, Mosambik, Nicaragua, Polen, Rumänien, Russland, Somalia und Syrien von Behörden eingesetzt.

Zu unrühmlicher, weltweiter Beachtung gelangte die Pistole am 23. Oktober 2002. Ca. 50 Geiselnehmer stürmten das Moskauer Dubrowka-Theater. Die Terroristen waren unter anderem mit Makarovs ausgerüstet.

Der Erfinder

Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov (undatierte, aufgrund der Orden zwischen 1966 und 1974 gemachte Aufnahme)
Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov (undatierte, aufgrund der Orden zwischen 1966 und 1974 gemachte Aufnahme)

Lebenslauf (Kurzfassung):

1914Geburt Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov in Sasovo
1929-1931Ausbildung als Schlosser (Berufsschule), Ryazan'
1931-1935Lokomotiven-Werkstatt im Eisenbahn Depot, Unterhalt und Reparatur von Dampfmaschinen, Sasovo
1936-1944Studium Maschinenbau (Mechanik) an der Hochschule, Tula
1941-1945Arbeit als Vorarbeiter und Designer in Rüstungsbetrieb, Zagorsk und Vyatskie Polyany
1945Beförderung zum Chef-Waffenkonstrukteur im Tulaer Konstruktionsbüro für Gerätebau
1946-1951Entwicklung der Pistole Makarov PM 7.65 mm und 9 mm
1952Ehrung mit dem Staatspreis der UdSSR
ab 1952Entwicklung Flugzeug Bordkanone AM-23
ab 1962Entwicklung Panzerabwehr Rakete Fagot (AT-4 Spigot)
1966Ehrung mit dem Orden des Roten Banners der Arbeit
1967Ehrung mit dem Staatspreis der UdSSR
1971Ehrung mit dem Leninorden
1974Ehrung als Held der sozialistischen Arbeit (zusammen mit 2. Leninorden)
1974Pensionierung
1988Tod im Alter von 74 Jahren in Tula

Karte Russland
Karte Russland

Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov wurde am 9. Mai 1914 in Sasovo im zaristischen Russland als Sohn von Pelagia und dem Lokführer Fedor Makarov geboren. Er und seine fünf Geschwister wuchsen in ärmlichen Verhältnissen auf, vor allem während und nach dem russischen Bürgerkrieg 1918-1920 kam die Familie kaum über die Runden.

In der Grundschule war Nikolai besonders gut in Mathematik. Nach Abschluss dieser, trat er 1929 in die Berufsschule in Ryazan’ ein und liess sich zum Schlosser bei der Eisenbahn ausbilden. Von 1931 bis 1935 unterhielt und reparierte er Dampfmaschinen in der Lokomotiven-Werkstatt im Depot von Sasovo. 1936 trat Nikolai Makarov in die Hochschule für Arbeiter in Tula ein und studierte Maschinenbau. Zu Beginn des Zweiten Weltkrieges wurde er nach Zagorsk nahe Moskau entsandt wo er in einer Firma, welche die Maschinenpistole Shpagin PPSch herstellte, ein Praktikum als Ingenieur absolvierte. Schon nach kurzer Zeit wurde die Fabrik wegen der nahenden Deutschen Wehrmacht nach Vyatskie Polyany verlegt. Schnell arbeitet sich Makarov vom Vorarbeiter zum Designer hinauf. In diesen Funktionen lernte er die Produktion automatischer Waffen kennen und arbeitete als Designer unter Georgi Semjonowitsch Schpagin. Später bezeichnete Makarov Schpagin als eine grosse Quelle der Inspiration. 1944 (je nach Quelle 1943) schloss Makarov sein Studium in Tula mit Auszeichnung ab.

In der Folge arbeitete er am Design einer neuen Generation der Maschinenpistole Shpagin PPSh. Diese Arbeit wurde aber mit dem Ende vom Zweiten Weltkrieg eingestellt, die Waffe wurde nie produziert.

Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov mit seiner Ehefrau Nadeschda (geborene Mandelstam; undatierte Aufnahme)
Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov mit seiner Ehefrau Nadeschda (geborene Mandelstam; undatierte Aufnahme)

In den Nachkriegsjahren entwickelte Makarov eine Pistole im Kaliber 7.65 mm und 9 mm. Die sovjetische Armee übernahm die 9 mm Version wofür Makarov mit dem Staatspreis der UdSSR geehrt wurde.

Später entwickelte Nikolai Makarov mit Nikolay Afanasyev die Flugzeug Bordkanone AM-23, welche zwischen 1953 und 1972 eingesetzt wurde. Beispielsweise wurde die Kanone in Iljuschin Il-40 Flugzeugen zur Verteidigung der hinteren Halbspäre eingebaut. Ausserdem war Makrov ab 1962 an der Entwicklung der Panzerabwehr Rakete Fagot (AT-4 Spigot) beteiligt. Dafür erhielt er den zweiten Staatspreis der UdSSR.

Fast 30 Jahre, von 1945 bis zu seinem krakheitsbedingten Ausscheiden in den Ruhestand 1974, arbeitete Makarov im Tulaer Konstruktionsbüro für Gerätebau. 36 Erfindungen wurden ihm zugeschrieben. Er erhielt zweimal den Staatspreis der UdSSR, den Orden des Roten Banners der Arbeit, zweimal den Leninorden und 1974 wurde er mit dem Titel Held der sozialistischen Arbeit ausgezeichnet.

Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov (undatierte, aufgrund der Orden nach 1974 gemachte Aufnahme)
Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov (undatierte, aufgrund der Orden nach 1974 gemachte Aufnahme)

In seinem Ruhestand war Makarov zweimal gewähltes Mitglied des Oblast Tula Rat der Volksbeauftragten und war lange Mitglied des Regionalrats. Ausserdem angelte und malte er gerne.

Makarov wurde als bescheidener Mensch beschrieben. Seine Berühmtheit hätte ihm im sozialistischen Russland einen besonderen Status gesichert, trozdem bat er nie um bevorzugte Behandlung. Laut seiner Frau Nadeschda (geborene Mandelstam), mit ihr lebte er 44 Jahre, sprach er zu Hause nie über seine Erfindungen, er zeigte ihr seine berühmte Pistole nie.

Nikolai Fedorowitsch Makarov starb nach seinem siebten Schlaganfall am 13. Mai 1988 im Alter von 74 Jahren in Tula.